In 2014, the European Commission offered for the Member States of the European Union to increase their “national wealth” by including the turnover from prostitution in the calculation of their GDP. In France, INSEE refused to implement the European request and explained, rightly so, that prostitution was not so much a “provision of freely consented services” as an exploitation of people in the most precarious of situations.

ProstCost, a previously unpublished study carried out by the Mouvement du Nid – France and Psytel, questions this myth of prostitution as a vector of growth and provides an estimate of the twofold economic and social burden which the prostitutional system imposes on its victims and on society as a whole.

After 18 months of research, both entities are pleased to present the results in this summary. Our calculation of the economic and social cost of prostitution in France is based on two estimates:
• An estimate of the number of prostitutes in France
Recent studies and parliamentary reports have all highlighted the difficulty in estimating the number of prostitutes in France. Our research has enabled us to put forward a documented estimate of 37,000 prostitutes, with a low hypothesis of 30,000 and a high hypothesis of 44,000 prostitutes.
• The identification of 29 « cost items » and an estimate of their value, the total figure equalling 1.6 billion Euro

Prostcost couv Vang

Summary of the study’s results

LESSONS LEARNED

TAKING STOCK OF THE COST BORNE BY THE VICTIMS AND INCREASING PUBLIC SUPPORT
Our study reveals the significant human cost (in addition to the cost of direct and indirect social and medical consequences) borne by the victims of the prostitutional system. Prostitutes are at least 6 times more exposed to rape than the general population and 7 times more likely to commit suicide The human cost borne by prostitutes is estimated at 252 to 370 million Euro per year. In comparison, the total social expenditures which prostitutes benefit from is estimated at 50 to 65 million Euro per year (including housing, benefits and prevention and support actions) and the total public funds allocated to charitable organisations specifically for the prevention and support of prostitutes amounts to a mere 2.4 million Euro, i.e. 65 Euro per year and per prostitute.

INTEGRATING AN ECONOMIC APPROACH INTO THE FIGHT AGAINST PROCURING
It makes sense to integrate an additional economic approach into the fight against procuring and the prostitutional system in so far as this form of violence and exploitation has the distinctive feature of being motivated by profit. We estimate the turnover of prostitution in France at 3.2 billion Euro, while the annual budget of all police and gendarmerie services working on dismantling rings and sentencing pimps equals 12 million Euro.

ADDRESSING THE “DEMAND” AT THE ROOT OF EXPLOITATION AND SOCIAL COST
The “clients” of prostitution are the backers and the first to benefit from prostitution. It is to satisfy their demand and to collect their money that national and international pimps organise human trafficking for the purpose of prostitution. This exploitation of prostitutes leads to frequent and significant violence, which has a high social cost.

If the “clients” of prostitution spent their money on any other activity, French society would save several hundred million Euro per year in expenditures linked to the consequences of prostitution, while increasing its tax revenues by at least 853 million Euro.

INVESTING TODAY INSTEAD OF SUFFERING ENDLESSLY
The prostitutional system imposes a twofold burden on its victims as well as on society, which this study estimated at 1.6 billion Euro per year. It therefore makes economic sense, as well as being an ethical necessity, to invest today in prevention, in the development of an exit policy to end prostitution, in the punishing of procuring and the discouraging of demand, rather than to keep on suffering this economic and social cost.


Download all our data and spreadsheets for each item on:
http://www.psytel.eu/PSP/index.php
Password : mdnpsp


Download the illustrations

Number of prostituted persons

Global estate

Global breakdown of costs

Direct medical costs

Medical consumption

Suicide rate

Non medical direct costs

Police resources VS fiscal loss

Cost of direct social consequences

Budget of support to NGOs

Cost of indirect social consequences

IN MEMORIAM

Human cost for prostituted persons

Rape rate

Cost of the fiscal loss

Fiscal evasion scheme

Publicités

En 2014, la Commission européenne proposait aux États membres de l’Union européenne d’accroître leur « richesse nationale » en incluant le chiffre d’affaires de la prostitution dans le calcul de leurs PIB. En France, l’INSEE a refusé de se plier à la demande européenne en expliquant, à juste titre, que la prostitution s’apparentait moins à une « prestation de services librement consentie » qu’à une exploitation des personnes les plus précaires.

ProstCost, étude inédite menée par Le Mouvement du Nid – France et Psytel, prend à revers ce mythe d’une prostitution créatrice de croissance et propose une estimation du double fardeau économique et social que le système prostitutionnel fait peser sur ses victimes et sur la société toute entière.

Au terme de 18 mois de recherches, nos deux structures sont heureuses de présenter leurs résultats dans cette synthèse. Notre calcul du coût économique et social de la prostitution en France repose sur deux estimations :
• L’estimation du nombre de personnes prostituées en France
Les études et rapports parlementaires récents ont tous souligné la difficulté d’estimer le nombre de personnes prostituées en France. Nos travaux de recherche permettent cependant d’avancer une estimation étayée de 37 000 personnes prostituées avec une estimation basse de 30 000 et une estimation haute de 44 000 personnes prostituées.
• L’identification de 29 « postes de coûts » et leur estimation, pour un montant total estimé à 1,6 milliard d’euros

Prostcost couv

Synthèse de l’étude

LES CONCLUSIONS

PRENDRE LA MESURE DU COÛT SUPPORTÉ PAR LES VICTIMES ET ACCROÎTRE LE SOUTIEN PUBLIC
Notre étude révèle l’immense coût humain (en plus du coût des conséquences sociales et médicales directes et indirectes) supporté par les victimes du système prostitutionnel. Les personnes prostituées sont à minima 6 fois plus exposées au viol que la population générale et 7 fois plus exposées au risque de suicide Le coût humain porté par les personnes prostituées est estimé entre 252 et 370 millions d’euros par an. En comparaison, le total des dépenses sociales dont bénéficient les personnes prostituées est estimé entre 50 et 65 millions d’euros par an (incluant hébergement, allocations et actions de prévention et d’accompagnement) et le total des fonds publics attribués aux associations spécifiquement pour la prévention et l’accompagnement des personnes prostituées ne s’élève qu’à 2,4 millions d’euros, soit 65 euros par an et par personne prostituée.

INTÉGRER UNE APPROCHE ÉCONOMIQUE DANS LA LUTTE CONTRE LE PROXÉNÉTISME
Il est utile d’intégrer une approche économique complémentaire dans la lutte contre le proxénétisme et le système prostitutionnel, car cette forme de violence et d’exploitation a pour spécificité d’être motivée par le profit. Nous estimons à 3,2 milliards d’euros le chiffre d’affaires de la prostitution en France alors que le budget de l’ensemble des forces de police et de gendarmerie concourant annuellement au démantèlement des réseaux et à la condamnation des proxénètes est de l’ordre de 12 millions d’euros.

S’ATTAQUER À LA « DEMANDE » QUI EST À L’ORIGINE DE L’EXPLOITATION ET DU COÛT SOCIAL
Les « clients » de la prostitution sont les commanditaires et les premiers bénéficiaires de la prostitution. C’est pour répondre à leur demande et capter leur argent que les proxénètes nationaux et internationaux organisent la traite des êtres humains à des fins de prostitution. Cette exploitation des personnes prostituées entraîne de fréquentes et graves violences qui engendrent un coût social important.
Si les « clients » de la prostitution dépensaient leur argent dans n’importe quelle autre activité, la société française économiserait chaque année plusieurs centaines de millions d’euros de dépenses liées aux conséquences de la prostitution et augmenterait parallèlement ses recettes fiscales d’au moins 853 millions d’euros. 

INVESTIR AUJOURD’HUI PLUTÔT QUE SUBIR SANS FIN
Le système prostitutionnel fait porter un double fardeau aux victimes et à la société, que l’on a pu estimer à 1,6 milliard d’euros par an dans cette étude. Il est donc économiquement rationnel, en plus d’être éthiquement nécessaire, d’investir aujourd’hui dans la prévention, le développement d’une politique de sortie de la prostitution, la répression du proxénétisme et le découragement de la demande, plutôt que de subir éternellement ce coût économique et social.


Toutes les données mobilisées et nos fiches de calcul pour chaque poste sont accessibles sur le site: http://www.psytel.eu/PSP/index.php
Mot de passe : mdnpsp


Téléchargez les illustrations

Nombre de personnes prostituées

Estimation finale

Répartition générale des coûts de la prostitution

Coûts directs médicaux

Consommation médicaments

Taux suicide 

coûts directs non médicaux

Police vs évasion fiscale

Coûts des conséquences sociales directes

Budget des associations

Coûts des conséquences sociales indirectes

IN MEMORIAM

Coûts humains pour les personnes prostituées

6x plus de viol

Coûts liés à l’évasion fiscale de l’argent de la prostitution

Processus d’évasion fiscale



logo4            Logo_Psytel

Publicités